Opus Imperfectum in Matthaeum. The Text in Its Contexts

Colloque / Congrès / Forum, Conférence, Journée d'études
Ouvert au grand public
19.10.2023 09:15    -    21.10.2023 12:40

A prominent, yet largely understudied example of Patristic exegesis is the anonymous Opus Imperfectum in Matthaeum, the most elaborate commentary on the first Gospel composed in Latin sometime during the first half of the 5th century. Despite its “Arian” features, this treatise was falsely attributed to John Chrysostom and, because of its exegetical quality, continued to be held in the highest esteem for centuries. Since September 2020, the first part of the Opus imperfectum, i.e. Prologue plus Commentaries (formerly Homilies) 1–22 (on Matt 1:1-8:10), has been subject of a Swiss National Science Foundation project undertaken by an international research group based at the University of Fribourg, Switzerland, and directed by Franz Mali and Joop van Banning.
Aiming at a deepened understanding of the complexities posed by this important work, on a textual as well as on a contextual level, the conference will approach the following aspects:

Paleography, textual criticism and earliest reception

Quellenforschung with attention to both canonical and non-canonical sources

Exegetical and literary traditions with a focus on the Gospel of Matthew

Historical theology concerned with “Arianism” at its later stages, in particular in the 5th century

History of Late Antiquity with a special focus on the north-eastern border regions of the Late Roman Empire
19.10.2023 09:15    -    21.10.2023 12:40
Site MIS 08 / Salle 0101 (espace Güggi)
Rue de Rome 6, 1700 Fribourg
Franz Mali
Joop van Banning s.j. (Nijmegen) 
Agnès Bastit (University of Lorraine) 
Thomas Bauer (University of Erfurt) 
Philippe Blaudeau (University of Angers) 
Alison Bonner (University of Cambridge) 
Hanns Christof Brennecke (Friedrich‐AlexanderUniversität Erlangen) 
Alenka Cedilnik (University of Ljubljana) 
Francesco De Vecchi (University of Fribourg) 
Mark De Kesel (Titus Brandsma Institute / Radboud University, Nijmegen) 
Barthélémy Enfrein (École Pratique des Hautes Études, Paris) 
Jean-Blaise Fellay s.j. (Fribourg) 
Rémi Gounelle (University of Strasbourg) 
Christophe Guignard (University of Strasbourg) 
Brent Landau (University of Texas) 
Mantė Lenkaitytė Ostermann (University of Fribourg) 
Franz Mali (University of Fribourg) 
Ralph W. Mathisen (University of Illinois) 
Ingo Schaaf (University of Fribourg) 
Chiara Spuntarelli (Sapienza Università di Roma) 
Roland Steinacher (University of Innsbruck) 
Marta Szada (University of Toruń) 
Louis‐Jean Tissot (University of Fribourg / Sorbonne Université)